Society is not ALL about Woman’s Rights


I was thinking to write on some issue that no one has written before.  I went through many newspapers, magazines, blog, social network discussions, online forums and many other open discussion websites and forums. Apart from many good, genuine, reasonable and true and many over expressed and overrate views and discussion about woman rights; I found discussions and forums for the environment rights, earth’s rights, rights of plants and forests. Even there are many active forums about the rights of all existing and extinct animals. But there was something that I could not find anywhere.

The thing I didn’t find anywhere was the “Man’s Rights”. At first I wonder that Man’s rights do not exist at all or no one ever has thought about it. Well, logically speaking, if man exists in the world with duties they have to do then there must be some rights they must have.

I do agree the society is incomplete and imbalance if the society does not take care of the rights of a mother, sister, daughter and wife; in simple words a woman. But, on the other hand, the world would be equally partial and one-sided without the respect of rights of a father, brother, son and husband; in other words the man. Man and woman are not rivals in the society; they both are part of society and society depends on both equally.

In my knowledge, all the essence of how much religion I have read and social values I have observed and understand man and woman are equal parts of the society with different responsibilities. The society is incomplete and imbalance without either of them. Both have equal and different duties; both have equal but different rights. The burden of duties is equal on both of them it means that both can enjoy same comfort of rights. As far as my logic is concern, one can enjoy his or her rights most when one fulfills all the duties responsibly.

I agree that it is a man’s responsibility to take care of woman; to take care of her food and clothing, to take care of her shelter and comfort. If it is his responsibility to take care of his home and family then it must be his right to be taken care in home. Logically speaking it is his right to be welcomed at home after a tiring day with sweet smile and nice cup of tea rather than with saas-bahu fuss and complaints about what the kids did whole day.

A man has equal right to be taken care, to be loved and to be happy as a woman. I know I accept and I admit there are parts of society where woman treated so brutally but there is no doubt in that there are parts of society as well where woman are sole reason of imbalance in the society. A good society is not about what I can do and other can’t; it is all about what we can do to make it better place to live in. Braveness is not only standing up and fighting for the rights it is fulfilling the duties with sincerity.

I’m not writing this because I regret being a woman or I consider woman inferior then man. I’m writing this because I am educated, literate, sensible and strong enough to know I would never get my rights at fullest without fulfilling my all duties.

About wasiddiqui

Wajeeha Asrar Siddiqui is a Karachi based freelance writer and blogger and has main aim to spread awareness via Wajeeha’s Official Blog. (http:wasiddiqui.com) Wajeeha is writing on her blog since 2008. Her aim is to promote education along with awareness in Pakistani society. According to her, one of the main reasons for what Pakistan is lacking behind is lack of proper education, proper counseling, and proper implementation of education. She mostly picked topics on social issues and daily life with a little mixture of some random thoughts.

Posted on August 12, 2010, in Daily Life, View Point and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. every human being should have equal rights. but it is nice to highlight the rights of men too.

  2. Abdul Ahad Farooqui

    Good Article..

    • Thank you Abdul Ahad for stopping by and leaving the comment.

      There are many better ones coming soon. Please subscribe to stay updated with all latest posts on the blog.

      Regards,
      Wajeeha.

  3. hmm… nice writing…

Leave a comment